Latest NewsBack to News
    Posted on05Dec

    Enfield Youth Parliament Election Results Night

    Our six candidates for the Enfield Youth Parliament attended the Election Results Night at the Dugdale Centre in Enfield Town in the evening of Thursday 23rd November. 

    The Director of Education, Chief Executive of Education as well as the Enfield Youth Parliament coordinators were also there.   Fourteen schools in Enfield took part in these elections with over 4000 students participating by voting for their preferred candidate.   This included 335 of our own students.

    The evening began with a presentation by Councillor Ayfer Orhan, the Cabinet Member for Education, Children's Services and Protection.  She formally thanked the Youth Parliament representatives, who have just completed their two year term. 

    Reuben, a former student, then spoke about the valuable experience he gained in communication through public speaking and helping Enfield during his time as the Chair of the outgoing Enfield Youth Parliament. 

    The Mayor of Enfield, Councillor Christine Hamilton, spoke about the importance of responsibility and learning new skills through being part of Enfield Youth Parliament and how this experience puts students ahead of the competition when applying for further education and employment. Finally our three winning candidates were announced.

    We are pleased and proud to announce that Rose in year 8, Abby in year 9 and Tara in year 10 are the new Enfield Youth Parliament representatives for our school.

    We would like to thank the outgoing Enfield Youth Parliament representatives, Sarah and Zoe, for their tireless work, which included helping our candidates with their campaign for election.  Thank you also to all the candidates who applied and ran for the election.  We wish the new representatives the best of luck in their new roles.

    Youla Hadjidaniel

    Deputy Leader of Science

    Enfield County School